BelliedMonkey Translator is a Safari extension for iPhone, iPad and Mac that shows each paragraph’s translation right below the original, needs no account, and is currently free — Google translation out of the box, or your own AI key. It also ships Chrome and Firefox extensions, dual subtitles on supported video, Live Subtitles for any app (on supported OS versions), and an optional learning loop.
Currently free. No account needed.
Immersive Translate is a capable, popular product: bilingual web pages, multi-browser extensions, and broad video coverage. Its public materials have claimed a very large user base. People still search “Immersive Translate alternative” for practical reasons (as of the sources checked for this brief on 19 Oct 2026 — re-check before publish if anything looks stale):
Treat community threads as sentiment, not as product charges. The rest of this page compares options on platforms, accounts, keys, subtitles, and price — without ranking quality we haven’t measured.
| Dimension | Ask yourself |
|---|---|
| Platforms | Do you mainly read in Safari on iPhone / Mac, or in Chrome / Firefox on desktop? |
| Account | Can you try it without signing up? Is login only for sync / credit? |
| Engine & key | Free machine translation out of the box? Own OpenAI / Claude / DeepSeek (etc.) key? Where is the key stored, and where do requests go? |
| Video / captions | Page dual subtitles only, or also Live Subtitles for any app? |
| Learning | Can finished sentences become review cards? Does phone review need sync? |
| Price | Is the app itself currently free? Who bills you when you use your own key? |
| Distribution | App Store + Safari extension? Chrome Web Store / Firefox Add-ons? Edge Add-ons or manual ZIP? |
BelliedMonkey’s niche on the international site is clear: Apple-native Safari bilingual reading, plus Chrome/Firefox, with currently free access, no account required, optional BYOK, and extras (Live Subtitles, face-to-face interpreter, learning loop) that most ranked open-source alternatives don’t list.
Competitor details from their official pages / stores / GitHub as checked 19 Oct 2026. Features change — check each vendor. Blank or “check vendor” means we would rather not guess.
| BelliedMonkey | Immersive Translate | OpenImmersive | FluentRead | KISS Translator | Dual Read | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Platforms | iPhone / iPad / Mac app + Safari, Chrome, Firefox extensions. Not on the Edge Add-ons store; Edge/Brave via manual ZIP (no auto-update) | iPhone, iPad, Mac app + Safari; Chrome / Edge / Firefox / Safari logos on its pricing materials | Chrome, Firefox, Edge | Chrome, Edge, Firefox, userscript | Chrome, Edge, Firefox, Thunderbird, userscript; Safari “not yet supported” (their docs) | Chrome, Edge, Firefox |
| Safari on iOS | Yes | Yes — do not claim they lack it | No (as listed) | No (as listed) | No (as listed) | No (as listed) |
| Account required | No | Free use allowed; higher quota after registration; paid plans use an account (their FAQ cites an 8-device limit) | Free engines: no account stated; AI tiers: account | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Bring your own key | Yes — OpenAI, Claude, DeepSeek, GLM, Qwen, Kimi, or a compatible custom endpoint | Check vendor (not locked in this brief) | DeepL, OpenAI, DeepSeek (their materials) | Many providers incl. OpenAI, DeepSeek, Claude, Ollama | Many incl. OpenAI, Claude, DeepSeek, Ollama | Any OpenAI-compatible |
| Dual / live subtitles | YouTube, podcasts, video posts + Live Subtitles in the app | Dozens of video sites incl. YouTube, Netflix, Coursera (App Store listing) | Not listed | YouTube and X (their materials) | YouTube (their materials) | Not listed |
| Pricing (published) | Currently free — no paid plan or credit pricing from us. Optional sign-in adds a small free AI credit. Own-key use is billed by your provider | Free tier with daily limits; Pro $9.99/mo or $79.99/yr; Max $34.99/mo or $289.99/yr (US App Store IAP, 19 Oct 2026) | Extension free; Plus / Max tiers + credit packs (their site) | Free, open source | Free, open source | Free, open source |
| Edge Add-ons store | Not listed (manual ZIP) | Listed (logo on pricing materials) | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Learning / review cards | Yes after you turn on Learning; phone review needs sync (off by default, email sign-in) | Not listed here | Not listed | “Learning center” style saving | Vocabulary saving | Not listed |
Footnote: competitor details from official pages on 19 Oct 2026; re-verify before publish if this draft sits more than a few weeks.
Every original paragraph stays in place; the translation appears directly beneath it in a distinct colour. You keep context instead of replacing the whole page.
BelliedMonkey is currently free, with no paid plan. Signing in is optional and adds a small free AI credit. Google (machine) translation works with zero setup and no account. Never write “free forever” or invent future pricing.
Paste your own key for OpenAI, Claude, DeepSeek, GLM (Z.ai), Qwen, Kimi, or any compatible custom endpoint.
Your key is stored on your device and requests go to the provider you choose.
Optional free-credit use is relayed through BelliedMonkey; we do not claim “no server of ours” or “never through our servers.” Own-key usage is billed by that provider.
Related product page (live): Live Translate on iPhone Duo — foldable layout for listen→translate; category is listen→translate, not speech-to-speech “same model” marketing.
Turn on Learning and sentences you finished reading become review cards. Review on your phone if you enable sync (email sign-in). Sync is off by default.
edge://extensions → Developer mode → Load unpacked; direct installs don’t auto-update.Described neutrally from their own materials. They solve overlapping but not identical jobs.
If your daily driver is desktop Chromium, starting with one of these is reasonable. If you’re stuck on Safari + iPhone and want no account + currently free + BYOK, put BelliedMonkey on the same table — that gap is why this page exists.
Agents / automation-facing surface (live): For agents.
It is currently free, with no paid plan. Free Google translation works with no account. You can add your own AI key and pay only that provider. Optional sign-in adds a small free AI credit.
Yes. Install the app, then enable the extension under Settings → Safari → Extensions.
Yes — also GLM, Qwen, Kimi, or a compatible custom endpoint. Your key is stored on your device and requests go to the provider you choose.
Yes — dual subtitles in the player, sentence-matched where supported.
No. Signing in is optional (small free AI credit; sync for learning materials uses email sign-in if you want it).
Use the separate China edition at belliedmonkey.com and the China App Store listing.
No. Install the direct ZIP manually in Edge/Brave via Load unpacked; it won’t auto-update.
As of 19 Oct 2026, the US App Store listing showed Pro at $9.99/month or $79.99/year and Max at $34.99/month or $289.99/year, plus a free tier with daily limits. Confirm on their store page before you decide.
FluentRead, KISS Translator, Dual Read and OpenImmersive Translator — mainly for Chrome, Edge and Firefox.
Primary: Get it on the App Store (iPhone, iPad and Mac).
Secondary: Chrome Web Store · Firefox Add-ons (also on belliedmonkey.cc).
Currently free. No account needed.